Cooking craze

I spent my Saturday being a cooking fool.  I spent part of the morning watching the Food Network.  Bad idea.  It gave me all of these ideas and inspired the cook in me.  (The baker in me is much easier to inspire).  So I did some quality searching online for recipes and made my grocery list.  On my way to the store, I did a U-turn and stopped by our local farmer’s market.  It was their final weekend, and everything was 50% off.  So I picked up a ton of veggies there.

The challenge:  Four dishes in one day
You have to be strategic when attempting such a feat.  I combined where I could (e.g. had to roast veggies for multiple dishes – so roasted them all at the same time).  And you have to make sure and keep things straight.  And it’s best to start with the things that take a longer time to cook, because you can move on to other dishes while it’s cooking.

 Cooking craze

The dishes:

  1. Roasted squash soup – I took a highly rated recipe I found online and read some of the comments, to pick up additional tips to make it better (a good hint).  I ended up changing up the recipe quite a bit based on those comments.  It’s quite a messy and effort-ful process to make a soup.  Turned out quite yummy and thick.  Great with bread.
  2. Mac and cheese with squash – This is a Racheal Ray recipe.  Sounds funny, but the squash is good in it.  Again, read comments from people who’ve cooked the dish before and made some nice adjustments.  Added some sausage and broccoli to up the protein and veggie content.  Turned out super yums.
  3. Rice and chicken casserole – This is a good ol’ standby dish.  But I used brown rice, added broccoli and grean beans, and used reduced fat cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soups.  Yummy!
  4. Vegetable casserole – All veggies.  So good though.  it’s basically a bunch of layers of different veggies.  Easy and delish…and healthy.

I froze half of everything I made…and am going to give it to my sister so she can enjoy too.  It ended up taking about 5 hours from start to finish…including all the massive dishes that accumulated.

2 Responses to “Cooking craze”


  1. 1 Allison November 12, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Yeah, you’re crazy. 🙂 A delicious sounding kind of crazy though.

  2. 2 tera November 14, 2008 at 6:10 am

    I can’t wait to try 🙂


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


