And the winner is…

I’m pretty excited for the Oscar’s tonight – I don’t typically get all that pumped about awards shows, but I have gotten more into it for this year’s Oscars.  I think there were alot of really good movies…and movies I even happened to see…which makes following the nominees/winner/losers a bit more interesting.

There are still a ton of movies I didn’t get a chance to see yet (The Reader, Milk, Frost/Nixon), which I’m sure are all very good, but I hear are my thoughts on the ones I did see:

In no particular order:

  1. Slumdog Millionaire:  I can’t say enough about this movie. Original and excellent!  And I haven’t heard anyone who has seen it say they didn’t like it.
  2. Doubt:  A good thinking movie and Meryl Streep really does an amazing job, as does Phillip Seymour Hoffman.  (Side note: I recently watched Capote, which he won the Oscar for Best Actor a couple of years ago – he’s really good). 
  3. The Changeling:  I just watched this on DVD a couple days ago.  It is MUCH better than I thought it was going to be.  Angelina Jolie did an amazing job!  And the story is really captivating…it definitely draws you in.  I highly recommend, but it definitely deals with disturbing content.
  4. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button:  A long movie…I think nearly 3 hours.  I tell people, “if you liked Forrest Gump, then you will like this movie.”  I feel it follows a similar story-telling style and there are many life lessons to be learned via his experiences.  It was also a thought provoking movie and made for alot of good conversation about it.  However, the movie is FAR different from the actual book.  Oh, and a great thing about this movie – you get to see a younger, super hot Brad Pitt!

Other movies I saw:

  • The Dark Knight – great movie, of course we all thought Heath Ledger did an amazing job as the Joker.
  • Kung Fu Panda – good, funny kids movie…but for adults too
  • Wall-E – hmmm…I actually didn’t think it was all that good.  I understand there was a deeper message it was sending about how we treat the planet and sustainability, etc. but I thought it was boring.
  • Man on Wire – a great documentary about a man who tightroped between the World Trade Center Towers.  Very funny and fascinating.

So, I am terrible at predicting winners of these types of things.  I do, however, see high hopes for Slumdog. 

Happy movie watching!!!!!!!!

1 Response to “And the winner is…”


  1. 1 Irvingia Gabonensis April 24, 2013 at 2:27 am

    After looking at a number of the articles on your blog,
    I really like your technique of blogging. I added it
    to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon.

    Please visit my website too and tell me how you feel.


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Archives


