Reading therapy

I am sick…again!  I’m going on Day 4 of the flu.  As a reminder, I was sick two weeks ago.  I managed to work a full day Monday, but have been literally in bed for the last three days.  And I hardly feel any better.  This sucks. 

So between the sleeping, coughing, aches and pains…I have managed to spend much of my recovery time catching up on my reading.  Even when I’m sick, I need to feel productive – a different type of illness I constantly suffer from :-).  In the past 4 days, I have finished reading 4 books (two of them I was already a third or so into, and the other two I read start to finish). 

Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Promote Peace…One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin

My dear friend Deborah gave this book to me, and to our friend Katie…creating a book club if you will.  This happens to be the same book that Tera and I gave our grandma for Christmas.  Before my visit to my grandma’s house a couple weeks ago, I started reading it, so that I might be able to discuss it a bit with my her.

It really is an amazing book and tells an amazing, inspirational story.  I did find it a little difficult to follow because of all the names: geography, people, places, etc.  Just hard to keep it all straight when you are unfamiliar with Afghan, Pakistan, and Indian language.  Overall, I highly recommend it because the story is so good.

Choke by Chuck Palahniuk (the same author as Fight Club).  This is the current selection for the book club with my girlfriends.  Hmm…a very interesting book.  If you are easily offended or easily disturbed, then it’s probably not the book for you.  It’s not a “happy” book and it’s quite disgusting on many levels – but that’s probably the point of the book too.  It’ll make for an interesting book club discussion. 

 

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

By far, one of my favorite books I’ve read this year.  This is Micah and my current book club pick (surprisingly, Micah’s pick).  It’s cute, charming and cleverly-written.  (the entire story is told through letters).  It’s a very quick read and just so good – that I read it from cover to cover in about a half day.  I plan to send my copy to my grandma to read – I think she’ll love it. 

The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell

I started this book a month or so ago, but got sidetracked with other things that I had to set it aside.  I read Outliers a few months ago, also written by Gladwell.  He likes to find unconventional ways of explaining events and occurrences in the word.  This book has been out for a long time, and is well-known as a “business book.”  I like to think that if you liked Freakonomics, then you’ll appreciate this book.  He brings a new perspective to explaining events that happen in society. 

While I have managed to do a considerable amount of reading, by no means have I neglected other forms of entertainment.  I have watched Oprah each day, countless HGTV and Food Network shows, and watched two movies I got on Netflix – Children of Men and Get Smart (really funny by the way).

I’m allowing myself only one more day to be sick!

0 Responses to “Reading therapy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


