Catch me if you can…uh, no thank you

So – saying my last week was busy, would pretty much be the understatement of the year.  Check that… the century!  Yeah, it’s been that crazy.  But to catch everyone up…here’s what’s been going on.

Without going into too much detail, (actually, without going into any detail), I’ve been helping a friend out this past week with some very serious health and personal problems.  Without question, I set my current priorities aside and have been helping my friend out with anything and everything that needs to be done.  There is family to be contacted and updated daily, there are friends to be notified, and help to be requested from others.  It’s quite the coordination of effort, and thus far, I’m the main point person.  It hasn’t been easy…but it is something that has to be done, and will continue to be done after I’m gone. 

So, in the midst of all of this (and after a good full day of rushing around and utter exhaustion), Micah and I had tickets to see the world premiere of Catch me if you can the musical.  (Think Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hanks movie).  Sadly, we were actually going to go a week earlier, but the first week of shows were cancelled due to one of the actor’s sisters being murdered here in Seattle.  Very tragic.

I wasn’t sure what to expect with this musical.  Any of the prior musicals we have gone too have been out for awhile and come with good reviews.  And again, as a reminder – I’m not much of a musical person.  I have liked some (e.g. Jersey Boys, The Lion King), and not liked some (uh…Phantom of the Opera – bleh!). 

This musical will fall into the not like category.  Actually, it should fall into the “Didn’t even finish” category.  Yep, Micah and I both were so bored.  The first act was BORING and SLOW.  There were lots of slow songs, unnecessary songs, and even the fast up tempo songs were really lacking.  Now, I haven’t seen any “professional” reviews about this musical yet to see if I’m just the outlier…but Micah and I hightailed it out of there at intermission, and don’t regret for one second not finishing it. 

And to think about it…the movie version wasn’t that good either!!!

0 Responses to “Catch me if you can…uh, no thank you”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


