Daegu nightlife

Daegu is a big city, and has a big nightlife.  Downtown is where it’s at, but stores in all parts of the city are open late.  Even the tiny little “shanty” places – they stay open until at least 10pm every night. 

Downtown Daegu is about a 15-20 minute subway ride from our place.  It’s not bad.  Downtown is a zoo.  There’s shops everywhere, people everywhere, and cars everywhere.  The cars drive down these little streets filled with people – streets that you don’t think cars should be driving down.  So you have to be on the lookout all the time.

Also, there are foreigners EVERYWHERE…and by “foreigners,” I mean Americans, Canadians, Brits, etc.  There are a significant number of English-speaking people who like to socialize in the bars and shops downtown.  It was a little weird to tell you the truth.  I figure, if the time comes when I want to just speak English on a night out – downtown is the place to go.

Last weekend, we met up with some of our new EPIK friends and went downtown.  One of the veteran EPIK teachers (who’s been in Daegu for 18 months now) was hosting a trivia night.  You enter as a team, pay 20,000 won, and the winning team takes all.  He was hosting it at a very popular downtown bar called ‘The Communes.’  Our team started out strong and then quickly went downhill.  The round of questions pertaining to “Life in Daegu” really killed us, since we’d only been there for exactly 1 week.  But fun nonetheless.

trivia1

Plus, got to check out the infamous “bagged drinks.”  There are four places in the downtown area where you can buy a mixed alcoholic drink…in a bag, a straw included. 🙂

 trivia2

10 Responses to “Daegu nightlife”


  1. 1 Highly recommended Website April 5, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

  2. 2 Elliott July 24, 2013 at 10:43 am

    I every time spent my half an hour to read
    this weblog’s articles everyday along with a cup of coffee.

  3. 3 Best Pool Parties in Vegas July 27, 2013 at 4:42 am

    Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in
    accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing on your augment or even I achievement you get right of entry to constantly rapidly.

  4. 4 theresafa August 7, 2013 at 3:06 am

    each time i used to read smaller articles or
    reviews which as well clear their motive, and
    that is also happening with this post which I am reading at this place.

  5. 5 baseswiki.org August 12, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Remarkable issues here. I’m very glad to see your post. Thank you a lot and I am having a look forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  6. 6 www.facebook.com August 20, 2013 at 4:12 am

    Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web page, and article is genuinely fruitful designed for me, keep up posting such posts.

  7. 7 coffee bean extract dr oz September 12, 2013 at 2:10 am

    What are some ways to speed up metabolism and weight loss?

  8. 8 Garcinia Cambogia April 17, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Hi! I’ve been reading your website for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Texas!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the good job!

  9. 9 see this site October 3, 2014 at 5:05 am

    I know this web site gives quality depending articles
    and extra stuff, is there aany other site which provides these kinds of things in quality?


  1. 1 garcinia mangostana Trackback on September 25, 2014 at 12:54 am

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


