A new country…a new book club

My Korean co-teachers, Seunghui and Minju, plus my school’s music teacher, Hanna – they all speak a fair amount of English (enough to be able to converse with them daily).  They also want to improve their conversational English skills and have asked for my help.  Aside from the daily chit-chat, every Friday afternoon, the four of us are going to sit down and just talk.  I will be there to correct their English if necessary, help them understand the meaning of different English words/phrases, and to keep the conversation alive. 

One suggestion they seemed to love was the idea of a book club.   Back home in Seattle, I’ve been part of my book club for 5 years.  It’s one of my favorite things.  So, why not here in Korea?

I talked it over with them to see what types of books they’d be interested in reading: chick-lit and dramas.  I, of course, had to define the term “chick-lit.” 

So, my mission began.  First, I had to find books that I can read in English AND are also printed in Korean.   The number of books that I can easily find in the stores here are fairly limited.  And from those limited titles…I had to find something I thought they all would enjoy. 

I eventually decided on The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger.  I’ve actually read this book before (and seen the movie – loved it), so I thought it was a good selection.  I picked up 3 copies of this book in Korean, downloaded the English copy to my Kindle, and away we go! 

My teachers were all excited about the book.  They’ve all seen the movie and loved it too.  We’ll only read a couple chapters a week to keep it all manageable.  I’ll keep you posted on how it goes!

0 Responses to “A new country…a new book club”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


