Christmas Comes Early

On a cold Sunday morning, nothing seemed out of the ordinary. I (Micah) had returned from a three day teaching conference, which by the way is the longest amount of time Lisa and I have spent apart from each other since being in Korea. As we awoke in the morning, the first thing I did was to ask Lisa to check under the Christmas tree. (The previous night I bought a small plastic tree from the dollar store and decorated it with a few ribbons). Under the tree was a small box which was labeled, “Please open me before Christmas.

SAM_0200 

Now, I know what you’re thinking. As soon as Lisa opened the box, she got a very big surprise? Not exactly. To her delight, wrapped up was a pocket thermometer that I got from my weekend conference. But, on the wrapping paper I had written a message. I told Lisa how much she meant to me…and that her real present was in a different location.  Away we go.

SAM_0203 SAM_0205

She then found the present hidden away in the kitchen cabinet.  This box was a little bigger and contained a much more special gift.  As she started to open it, I could see the tears in her eyes developing. I knew I had packed the perfect gift. Just in case she got sick, I had wrapped a wonderful swine flu mask. This way she could shed any tears or fears of the “influenza” (that’s what Koreans like to call it). But also included was a nice note leading her to yet another location.

SAM_0209

The next present was conveniently located in our bedroom. This was an even bigger box that looked to be overly stuffed. Lisa carefully opened the package to find a wonderful Korean full body towel. If you know what those are, then you know that the Korean full body towel covers about the equivalent of one thigh. She proudly displayed this for the camera.

SAM_0211 SAM_0212

After a second glance, she noticed one more item in the box. I slowly got to one knee and very nervously told her how much she meant to me, and asked Lisa if she would spend the rest of her life with me. She never “officially” said yes, but the fact that I was able to make Lisa cry (she never cries even at the saddest of movies) was enough for me to assume that she said yes. I placed the ring on her finger, excitedly embraced, and started telling our friends and family. Christmas had come early for me.

SAM_0213

A note from Lisa:

I was absolutely SURPRISED with the proposal. It is not uncommon for Micah to give me silly little gifts for no reason at all.  I didn’t suspect a thing – he wanted to take pictures so we could create a “Christmas in Korea” blog posting.  Fair enough.  Believe me, if I knew this was coming – I would definitely have primped a little (aka showered). 🙂

(I actually thought he had brought me back either a funny t-shirt, or some yummy treat to eat).  If you know Micah, his proposal was completely him – and perfect.  He had considered waiting until Christmas, but he couldn’t wait! 🙂

P.S. The ring Micah originally wanted to get me is not available in Korea. He opted for a different ring for the time being (no I’m not keeping it).  But we’ll actually be buying “the ring” (see below) in the U.S. and shipping it here.  It’s worth the wait.  Would love to know if insurance can be bought on it from abroad.  I don’t want to wear it unless it’s been insured.  Anyone know?

the ring Thanks everyone for the amazing comments and congratulations for our engagement! We are blessed to have such wonderful people in our lives.

11 Responses to “Christmas Comes Early”


  1. 1 Danielle December 14, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I cried.

    It was very, very sweet.

    Congratulations.

  2. 2 Allison December 14, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    CONGRATS to you both! That very sweet! I definitely teared up too.

  3. 3 Jessie M December 14, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Oh he made you cry!! Good job Micah!!

  4. 4 Kathy Hobson December 14, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Congratulations, Micah & Lisa!! What a great way to propose!

  5. 5 Naome December 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Micah and Lisa congratulations!!! So sweet – my eyes are watering. Micah you’re giving Nicholas Sparks a run for his money with that story… Lisa I love the no-shower look.

  6. 6 katie p December 16, 2009 at 1:26 am

    awwww! I teared up too! That’s so cute!

  7. 7 "mariza" December 16, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Congratulations! Lisa-I am so happy you found someone who so completely gets you. I can see how he compliments your strengths and has embraced the joy that you are. I wish you both many great adventures in life.

  8. 8 Anonymous December 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    AHHH! You guys! That is so incredibly sweet and moving. I’m trying to write through tears! xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    Nice work Micah. I wish you both all the happiness in the world.

  9. 9 Anonymous December 16, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Oop! I forgot to say it’s Valerie writing! 🙂

  10. 10 stockk December 18, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Congratulations Lisa!!! And Micah!! wonderful news 🙂 -kate

  11. 11 Katie December 21, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    I just found your blog! I love your proposal story, Micah is so creative!


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


