Goodbye 2009, Hello 2010!

Micah and I are headed to Seoul (again) to celebrate New Years with a bunch of our new friends.  Although I’m really excited to be ringing in a new decade in one of the largest cities in the world…I’m not excited about the temperatures.  We know…we were just there – it was freezing.  And this time around, it will be even colder!

We haven’t made any definitive plans either – we’ll do as Koreans do and just go with the flow.  🙂

I just finished three days of teaching Winter English Camp at my school.  It was a success.  I had about 20 students and they all seemed to have a really fun time.  I tried to make it different than just normal class.  We had lots of games and activities…and the highlight was learning to make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.  Seriously, these kids have never even heard of this before.

SAM_0422

SAM_0423

SAM_0426

Here are my students singing The Beatles, Hello Goodbye.  A fitting song for this time of year.  🙂 Happy New Year everyone!

4 Responses to “Goodbye 2009, Hello 2010!”


  1. 1 leeyera December 31, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Thanks for visiting me!
    I wish you could visit Seoul.
    Seoul is really nice place.

    I’ve been to America when 7 years ago! kkk
    My aunt’s house was in LA so I went there and had tour.
    I went to San Francisco and Las Vegas etc..
    I want to visit there again…
    I really want to visit New York!
    What region are you live in America?
    Please get me a tour when I go to America^^

    Do you know well about Korean singers?
    I really interested about singers.
    I like Girls’ Generation (SNSD) and TVXQ.
    Tell me if you know them. haha

    Then I’ll visit you again.
    Take care!
    Happy New Year!

  2. 2 Robyn January 11, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Hey Lisa!

    Sounds like English Camp went well. I start mine next week. Did you have a book to work from or were you able to plan everything on your own? My co-teacher gave me a pretty intense book and I’m supposed to teach two chapters of the book each day. I’m going to try no-bake cookies or pbj and I’m hoping I can fit a lot of other fun things in as well. Any advice? Hope you’re keeping warm-ish in Daegu!

    Robyn

  3. 3 muchadoaboutlisa January 11, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    Hi Robyn!
    How was HI!!?? We could each pick our own books. I didn’t own the books but was able to find the text online and just read it to the kids. And there was also a YouTube video for The Very Hungry Caterpillar. We just taught the same lessons each day…2 different books, but 4 periods total (2 periods per book). It went fairly smoothly and was actually pretty fun.

    I did PB&J and the kids LOVED it. I created a lesson to go w/ it as well. The whole day’s theme was about food and then at the end we made imaginary pbj sandwiches (so they could practice) and then we set up stations and had each kid make their own. I quizzed them on the different vocab and such.

    You’ll do great. I think you just have to adapt each day (or each period) and adjust according to how you think things are going. Somethings I cut out or added last second (or made up on the spot).

    Let me know if you have any other questions!

  4. 4 Robyn January 13, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Mmm pbj…

    Hawaii was good but the trip was SO SHORT! spent most of it getting over jet lag and then it was time to come back. You’ve got a bunch of trips coming up soon, don’t you? Excited? Was Australia first or was it Thailand (so jealous typing that sentence!)


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


