Seattle Seahawks + The Blind Side

Why are the Seattle Seahawks in the movie, The Blind Side?  Sorry – before I get to that…here’s a little background.

Last night, I *finally* watched the very hyped about movie, The Blind Side.  (It happens to be coming out on DVD in the U.S. on March 23).

And yes, I thought it was a really REALLY good movie.  So did Micah.  But this posting is not a movie review.  However, I do recommend the movie and am quite impressed with how well the movie reflected the real story on which it was based (at least based on the online information I have read about the character’s real life).

Warning: If you don’t like/care about football – the rest of this post might not interest you.  But…it might too.  However, given the first sentence of this post – I believe I’ve given you full disclosure of what I’m writing about. 🙂

Anyways, I was shocked (in a good way) with the first few minutes of the movie.  Without getting into a bunch of football talk…let’s just say, the narrator in the movie starts out talking about football, while showing video footage of an actual NFL game.  And then BAM! Next thing you see is pictures of Matt Hasslebeck and the Seattle Seahawks! 

Matt Hasselbeck – QB for the Seahawks…for now.

Having lived in Seattle for most of our adult lives, Micah and I are Seahawks fans.  And it’s been a huge disappointment hard the past couple of years to be a fan.  Blame it on injuries, coaching transitions, or just bad luck – the Seahawks have just sucked. 

So, I was both shocked AND confused on why they were showcasing the Seahawks in one of the biggest movies of 2009…in the first five minutes.  The Seahawks…really?  Matt Hasselbeck…really?  Wouldn’t you want The Colts? The Steelers?  Tom Brady even?

This really was a burning question for me throughout the movie.  Immediately after the movie was over, I searched online for answers.  Hmm…not much out there.  Could I really be the only one who is curious?  Or perhaps the only one who doesn’t understand the “obvious” connection? 

I went to my next best source (Micah) and he had his speculation…and I believe it to be very plausible.  So – here’s MY (as in Lisa, as in NO football expert) best attempt at explaining:

Why are the Seattle Seahawks in the movie The Blind Side?

  1. The Blind Side is, in football terms, referencing the side (usually the left) in which the quarterback can’t see when he is looking to throw the ball. 
  2. The blind side is a bad thing for the QB, but a great thing for the other team looking to squeeze their way in and sack the QB.
  3. The Left Tackle position is responsible to cover the blind side of the QB, thus protecting him from being sacked by the opponent.  (Yes, yes…the right tackle does this too).
  4. The Left Tackle position for most NFL teams is the second highest paid position, to that of the QB.  It is a HIGHLY regarded position and if you are good at it…you’ll get paid big time.  Teams are always on the lookout for the next best Left Tackle.
  5. Get on with it…the Seahawks??  So…in 2005 the Seahawks were awesome.  They were breaking records, winning games, and…went to the Superbowl (and unfortunately lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers).
  6. Walter Jones was the Seahawks’ Left Tackle at the time.  He was arguably the “best Left Tackle in the NFL.”  Maybe even the best player at the time. 
  7. The year 2005 was also the year that the character in the movie, Michael Oher, started playing college football (and pretty much where the movie ends).  And as many of you know, he was massively successful in college, and as such, he was drafted as the 23rd pick in the 2009 NFL Draft by the Baltimore Ravens.  His position?  Yep…Left Tackle (yes, and also Right Tackle too).

Does it all make sense now?  :-)  To sum it up:

  • The Left Tackle covers the QB’s blind side.
  • The movie talks about the importance of the Left Tackle position.
  • The Seahawks had the best Left Tackle in the NFL when Michael Oher entered college (2005).

So finally, that is why I think the Seattle Seahawks were in The Blind Side.

mattandwalt

Of course, Micah can sum it up by simply saying: “Walter Jones was the best player at the time.”  Done and done.

Thanks for staying with me to the end. It was probably a bit confusing to read – as honestly, it was a little confusing to write.  🙂

10 Responses to “Seattle Seahawks + The Blind Side”


  1. 1 stockk March 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    I still need to see that movie! And very plausible hypothesis. Just one thing: it is debatable that the steelers won the 2005 superbowl 😉 -Kate

  2. 2 muchadoaboutlisa March 24, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Kate..haha! I considered adding a little side comment about that controversial “win” but I ended up deleting it. 🙂 Seriously, such a GREAT movie!

  3. 3 Anonymous March 30, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Lisa, I CANNOT watch that movie. I seriously cried – just watching the trailer.

  4. 4 Joe April 2, 2010 at 5:50 am

    I had the same question! Why were the Seahawks featured in the movie “Blind Side”?

    I think you answered it!

    Thank you.

    I discovered your site via Google, BTW, I’m in Seattle too, just a coincidence.

    I think the Seahawks would have won the Super Bowl if it wasn’t for the officiating.

  5. 5 muchadoaboutlisa April 2, 2010 at 7:30 am

    @ Joe! Ah…thank you! I pondered if I was seriously the only person who had the same question and if this blog post was a waste of time!!!

  6. 6 Dannielle November 14, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    I googled this question while preparing to watch the Seahawks play today because it has been burning a hole in my brain since I first saw it in theaters! I’m completely satisfied with your conclusion. Thanks so much! And on a side note: any true Seahawks fan you find in WA hates the Steelers. So true.

  7. 7 Linda April 15, 2012 at 1:00 am

    Yes the Seahawks should have won the Superbowl. The offical has now come out and said as much. I am and always will be a die hard Seahawks Fan! We have taken this misjustice with the Normal Seattle Integrity and continue with our heads held high. I don’t see to many other Cities doing the same. Having been born and raised in Seattle integrity one of the main reasons this is the best place in the USA to live.

  8. 8 Ulrike May 21, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    They don’t really give you the good results you are expecting and you might experience their negative side effects. There is no better way of making this happen than doing it naturally. These are collagen and elastin, which are responsible in maintaining firmness and elasticity.

  9. 9 http://timmart.com April 30, 2014 at 9:54 am

    What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge concerning unexpected
    feelings.

  10. 10 aspartame free gum with xylitol August 26, 2015 at 5:26 pm

    I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    Would you offer guest writers to write content to suit your
    needs? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on a lot of the
    subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome
    weblog!


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


