“Umm…Can we eat now?”

This past Friday was the first English Club meeting of the new school year.  I, along with my Korean co-teacher, are in charge of it (but basically it’s just me doing all the planning and instructing and she helps translate when needed).  As I said in this earlier post, I was going to color Easter eggs with my students. 

A bit of online research gave me the confidence that you can indeed color brown eggs (as white eggs are not available in Korea).  They simply need more time sitting in the dye.  Cool.  I also made each bowl of water a really intense level of color. 

SAM_1082

The kids first decorated their eggs with crayon before sitting them in the colored water.  And then we proceeded to have an “Easter egg hunt.”  They loved it!  I hid paper eggs all around the classroom and each egg equaled one piece of candy.  I had three golden eggs – and they equaled an even better treat. 

Egg hunt

After the egg hunt and some other English activities, we finally lifted the eggs from the water to view the results.  Hmm…only some of them took on much color.  It seems that even 30 min. was not enough time.  😦

The students – seeing that their Easter eggs looked nothing like the vibrant colored egg pictures I had shown them – were just “eh” about it.  In my mind, I definitely envisioned a lot more excitement – even possibly students wanting to show their eggs to their parents.  Instead, as I hand them back their eggs, they look at it and ask me “Umm…can we eat now?”

Happy Easter everyone!

Easter eggs

Lower left picture – the only boy in English Club.  He’s looking glum b/c his 2nd egg fell on the ground.  “Teacher, my egg die.”

1 Response to ““Umm…Can we eat now?””


  1. 1 cotton bags for women cotton bags from india cotton bags manufacturers cotton bags muslin cotton bags printed cotton bags wholesale cotton bags with drawstrings drawstring cotton bags high cotton bags how to make cotton bags muslin cotton bags organic cot May 4, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She put the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know
    this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Archives


