Bubble gum art

I just had another English Club meeting with my students.  The day’s lesson was about hobbies.  So after going over a variety of different hobbies and playing some games to review the new vocabulary – I then busted out the gum. 

Materials: Gum, index card, toothpick

Objective: Using only the toothpick, sculpt the chewed gum into something that represents a hobby

Challenge: Look at each student’s art and correctly guess the hobby

Reward: The student with the most correct guesses wins raffle tickets for a candy prize

Results: The activity was hilarious!!  First of all, the students kept saying “teacher, dirty.”  Apparently they’ve never played with gum before.  My response, “Too bad – it’s not like you are going to eat it again.”  Students response, [insert students shaking heads like “what did she say?”]. 🙂

The “art”

SAM_1209

Can you guess what hobby each “gum art” represents?  (Sorry, didn’t get a picture of all of them)

SAM_1210

What the…?

SAM_1215Teacher – I don’t know.”

Answers:

hobbyanswers

1, 5, 6, and 3 – those are pretty good.
I have no idea about 7 and 8.  (You should see the ones I didn’t get a picture of.)

4 Responses to “Bubble gum art”


  1. 1 Anonymous April 18, 2010 at 7:14 am

    What a really cool idea…Did you do one as an example?If you did, could they guess your hobby?

  2. 2 Mom April 18, 2010 at 7:16 am

    forgot to put my name on the previous comment, OOPS!

  3. 3 Naomi April 19, 2010 at 2:07 am

    Can I steal your lesson plan? I love it.

    Do you have any boys in your after school class? I have 2 boys and 12 girls 😦

  4. 4 muchadoaboutlisa April 19, 2010 at 2:32 am

    Naomi – yes! I’ll send you the PPT and lesson plan.

    I have 9 girls and 1 boy. But he doesn’t seem to mind.


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Archives


