3rd and Micah – Playing football in Korea

Hi folks – Micah here. I decided to play football in Korea and finally had my first chance playing as a member of the Daegu Phoenix.  We ended up winning 23-0, but let’s just say the experience was interesting. Let me first add that the night before the game was the opening World Cup Game for South Korea. It seems like every Korean in Daegu was downtown cheering for Korea, and drinking to Korea.  My assumption was that a few of my teammates would be hung over the next day at our game.

So, Lisa and I arrived to the field promptly at 9am.  (We practice and play at Kyungbook University – a major university here in Daegu).  Our game was supposed to start at 10:30, so there wasn’t a lot of time to waste. Unfortunately, none of my teammates were there and the football locker room wasn’t open. When someone finally arrived, I got to play my always fun pre-game activity: “whose pads and helmet should I wear?”  Before every practice I borrow a different set of shoulder pads and helmet from one of the University students. Sometimes it fits, sometimes it doesn’t. Either way, they are usually really dirty and the helmet gives me a slight headache.

SAM_2113

Here’s the field we played on.  There’s no actual yard markings on the field.

On to the game. This was actually a semi-exciting game for me because this was my first game actually starting as a wide receiver. Growing up, I was always really really skinny (think 5’11” and 145 lbs as a senior in HS). I had good hands, but I was a little undersized so I didn’t get very much playing time.

Additionally, our friend Mike Mizuno expected a no less than three touchdown (TD) performance out of me. One of the university students also told me I should score 7 TDs. Wow-ok. And…the QB basically told me that the other team’s best player is their defensive back (DB), and if I beat him- we win…if I don’t beat him – we lose. Lofty expectations on my shoulders.

 SAM_2122

I’m #83 – here we are in the huddle.  In case you are wondering – everyone (including the Korean players) speak English (or some).  So all the play calls are in English.

The two plays started terribly. The first was a run for -2 yards. The second was a fumbled snap for -15 yards. The next thing I knew, we were on our own 5 yard line looking at 3rd down and 27 yards to go. When we got back to the huddle, the QB called all streak (deep pass) patterns. On a side note, the QB is a slightly out of shape 40 year old guy (he played offensive line the year before), who told me before the game that he didn’t sleep the night before because he watched the World Cup. And he was hung over. When we lined up for the play, I noticed that the safety wasn’t playing very deep, and I knew that I could get past my man. I gave a slight fake to the defender and ran deep to a perfectly thrown ball and proceeded to run for 80 yards. I didn’t end up scoring. The safety took a good pursuit angle, and I broke his tackle, but the DB that I burned followed intently and finally took me down at the 10 yard line. Either way, a successful opening to my receiver career.

SAM_2141

At halftime.  And sorry – there’s a guy grabbing himself behind me.

Here is some great game footage that Lisa got from the game. I never ended up scoring, but came close quite a few times. My unofficial stats were something like 7 catches for 190 yards – and no drops. I had a nice run on a wide receiver screen and probably broke at least one tackle on each play. Unfortunately, every time we got in the red zone, we tried to run the ball in. Or when we did pass in the red zone, it wasn’t to me.

There’s always next game. But not much after that since my Korean football career will probably be only 2-3 games since we’re leaving in late August. Stay tuned for more updates.

28 Responses to “3rd and Micah – Playing football in Korea”


  1. 1 Jason June 26, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Hey Micah,

    My wife and I have been living in Daegu for several months now, but I had never heard of this football league until I read about it on your blog. I’m a former player and would really be interested in speaking to someone about possibly joining, what the requirements are, etc. I find myself missing playing more and more these days. Would you be able to put me in touch with someone who might be able to help me out and answer a few questions? Thanks in advance (and my wife wants me to say she thinks your blog is great-we’re already planning a trip over to the wine tunnel thanks to your post!)

    Jason

  2. 2 micah June 26, 2010 at 2:09 am

    Hey Jason,

    Thanks for reading the blog. I can’t take credit for this blog since I only contribute an article once every 2-3 months. Lisa is the matermind behind this great blog.

    as for football, there are 2 club teams in Daegu. The Daegu Phoenix and Daegu United. We (Phoenix) practice at Kyungbook University. We actually would have had a practice today, if not for the rain. I’m not sure where the United practice, but I think they are on East Daegu. Joining the team is pretty lax. We only practice once every 2-3 weeks on Saturday afternoon, so players can make it. We just have to pay a little team dues because they provide water/gatorade and take us out to dinner after the practices. There are about 5-6 foreigners on the team, but the Korean players all speak pretty good English. The ‘real’ season isn’t supposed to start until August, but unfortunately I’ll be gone by then. This would be a good time for you to join. If you are more interested, contact me at micah_tanaka@hotmail.com and I can give you more details and let you know when practice is. or add me on facebook.

  3. 3 Lindsey October 2, 2013 at 8:00 am

    If you are going for best contents like me, simply visit this web site everyday because it
    presents quality contents, thanks

  4. 4 cheapshop.lv October 18, 2013 at 11:35 pm

    Hi there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website
    looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or
    plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Many thanks!

  5. 5 Twistys - Premium Accounts Access Code Generator October 29, 2013 at 8:05 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your
    weblog. You have some really great posts and I think
    I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the
    load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange
    for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.
    Regards!

  6. 6 sell my car online November 5, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    Have you wondered I would like to see how much is my car worth?

    There are lots of options, so it can be daunting unless you are shown who you can trust.

  7. 7 Self Publishers Wealth Summit November 6, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you write.

    The arena hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are
    not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  8. 8 glycemic index December 15, 2013 at 9:07 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right
    here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material
    stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you
    wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  9. 9 reviews For the elevation group December 25, 2013 at 7:13 pm

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all people you
    really understand what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Please also discuss with my web site =). We may have a hyperlink alternate contract between
    us

  10. 10 nitro.Lv December 25, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  11. 11 Maurice December 26, 2013 at 4:06 pm

    I’m not sure why but this blog is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  12. 12 motor January 16, 2014 at 1:42 am

    Yoo, genuinely fantastic piece of writing…

  13. 13 cash for cars avon January 25, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    Wow, thank you so much for this!

  14. 14 cash for junk cars ni January 25, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    I personally scan several blogging sites, but your site is a pleasure to read.

  15. 15 sell my car newcastle January 25, 2014 at 11:22 pm

    You on YouTube or Twitter? Would like to follow your latest videos or posts.

  16. 16 Frank Kern January 27, 2014 at 9:30 am

    Hello, I wish for to subscribe for this web
    site to get most recent updates, thus where can i do
    it please help out.

  17. 17 Car Town Hack No survey February 3, 2014 at 11:10 pm

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just
    extremely fantastic. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it smart.
    I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is
    really a great website.

  18. 18 tips to get more traffic February 25, 2014 at 2:50 am

    Many thanks for sharing such excellent info with us, i appreciate it.
    I merely would like to leave a comment in your guestbook and share:
    Maintain the good work!

  19. 19 steel fence panels for horses March 2, 2014 at 5:44 am

    Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes that make the most significant changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  20. 20 read full article March 16, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    Excellent items from you, man. I have be aware your
    stuff prior to and you are just too fantastic. I really like what
    you’ve received right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which through
    which you assert it. You’re making it entertaining
    and you still care for to stay it wise. I can not wait to read
    far more from you. This is actually a terrific web
    site.

  21. 21 what's your vehicle worth April 16, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    You are an incredible blogger. I have join tthe mailing list for your web site because I don’t want
    to miss your upcoming posts

  22. 22 buying a car coventry June 7, 2014 at 11:44 pm

    Fascinating read. Very good ideas, well-made.
    In my opinion , you’re just right.

  23. 23 www.facebook.com July 12, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    Howdy, excellent site post. It’s empowered
    to read more online.

  24. 24 my-amazing-car-blog.tumblr.com July 15, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    Remarkable reading. Very good ideas, well-made. I think you’re right.

  25. 25 wez-favourite-cars.tumblr.com July 15, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    I’m looking at setting up my very own website. Can you give me a couple of pointers?

  26. 26 youtube.com July 22, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    Hey, wonderful blog site post. It truly has motivated to investigate more on it.

  27. 27 buying vehicle November 3, 2014 at 2:14 am

    Hi, great web site article. It’s got me empowered to investigate far more online.


  1. 1 Cool things of 2010 – No. 6 and 7 « Much Ado About Lisa Trackback on December 30, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


