So long cool stuff – and P.S. Karma is a bitch

Ah…one last rant.  I figure it’s all part of the letting go process.  But honestly, I’m actually quite surprised with how calm I am about all of this.  From Micah’s mouth, “You’ve handled this quite well.”  🙂

The situation:

Someone stole my purse.  Yes, stole.  Not “took by accident” – but S T O L E! What I think of this unknown person – well…it rhymes with “stole” and “sucker.”  🙂

There is only a very small window of time that it could have happened…and of course, nobody saw anything.  We looked everywhere, I even walked around outside hoping I’d catch a glimpse of someone carrying it, we did everything we could.  And no…calling the police was not an option if you don’t speak the language. 

So on this special night, in my special going out purse…here’s what I had didn’t get to say goodbye to:

My 8GB, less than a year old, iPod touch with red case.  This was a b-day present from Micah’s dad.  I used this all the time here.

 

DSCN2354

image

Our kickass front-screen display Samsung camera.  Also less than a year old.  I raved about how cool it was here.

 

SAM_2106

My cell phone – yeah, the one where you can watch live World Cup soccer games on it!

   

image

My very cute Coach wristlet wallet (but mine was a shiny black).  Which inside held…

  

about 8 of these bad boys (call it $70 US), plus my card I use for the subway, my alien registration card, and my Korean bank check card.

Plus, some incidentals…but pricey incidentals like some makeup, lip gloss, and Extra chewing gum.  Oh…and don’t forget the actual purse itself!

 

But don’t worry.  I’ve taken many steps these past few days to make sure my bank account is safe and my cell phone is inactive.  With the help of some friends (thank you Heedo!) and my co-teachers – I have already replaced the three cards that were stolen. 

Will I replace these items?  Probably not while we are here.  We have an older digital camera we can use in the meantime, and I have an iPod shuffle I can use for music.  We’ll probably just use Micah’s cell phone between the two of us and I’ll get some new makeup back in the States where it’s cheaper. 

It’s a shitty situation, but really – what more can I do about it?  I can’t change what’s happened.  I can choose to be really pissed off about it – but how does that help?  So…aside from this post (oh and one pissed off Facebook status rant), I really have accepted what has happened and time to move on.

But like I said in my post title “Karma is a bitch.”  :-) 

P.S. I am 99.9% sure it was a foreigner who stole my purse.  Really, Korea is an incredibly safe country (relative to any big city in the U.S.)  So don’t get the wrong idea about the country and its people.

3 Responses to “So long cool stuff – and P.S. Karma is a bitch”


  1. 1 Mark Z July 13, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Ugh…that’s painful to read about. ㅠㅠ Glad you’re taking it well!

  2. 2 Tera July 14, 2010 at 2:47 am

    I also thought it was probably a foreigner, Koreans are just to polite and worried about offending others. Seriously, if they would let planes crash, than to be rude to the head pilot…then I don’t think any Korean would want to be called whatever rhymes with “sucker!” Also, I think you can get that Samsung camera over here now! I can actually picture Micah saying, ” “You’ve handled this quite well.”

  3. 3 katie p July 18, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Bummer! I’d hoped maybe it had turned up by now… glad you’ve been able to get your card stuff worked out though.


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


