Update: Our Korean gym workout date

A couple of posts ago, I talked about how our Korean gym employees wanted me to put them through one of the workouts they routinely see me doing at the gym.  Read the earlier post to see the type of workouts I do and the workout I chose for them.  Go BodyRock.TV!!

So Saturday morning, we headed to the gym.  Keep in mind, Micah and I went out for dinner and drinks with my co-teachers the night before.  Uh…let’s just say we weren’t in the best condition for doing a hardcore workout, but we pulled through.  🙂

Unfortunately, two of the guys didn’t show up.  But Min Hee, the one who was most excited about learning, she was there right on time.  I gave her a print out of the workout, along with pictures to describe each of the exercises. 

 

First, warm-up time.  Five minutes on the exercise bike. 

 

Walking her through the workout and how to correctly do each individual exercise.  I also showed her ways to make them a little easier in case they were too hard.

  

Burpees!  Her first time doing them.  Excuse the butt shot…ahem, Micah.

  

One leg dead lift, followed with a jump in the air. 

 

All in all, she did a really great job.  She was able to keep up the whole time.  She was super tired afterwards (as were we), but felt good about the workout.  Yeah…she was actually sweating…alot!

While we were doing side crunches, an older Korean woman came over and thought maybe I was teaching a class.  She plunked herself down along side us and started to try and follow along.  That lasted about uh…10 seconds and then she just watched…and then walked away.  Funny.

Oh, Micah did a great job too, considering he wasn’t planning on doing the entire workout (and he hadn’t eaten anything that morning).

Go Min Hee!!!

Micah – you’d never know he felt like throwing up right about now.

So Min Hee wants me to teach her more workouts.  So, time permitting, I’ll hopefully get to show her a few more different ones.  The difficult part is that her English is pretty limited, so it requires that I show her exactly what to do – rather than just relying on pictures and writing. 

9 Responses to “Update: Our Korean gym workout date”


  1. 1 Gina July 23, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Hey There,

    I found your blog while I was researching coming to Korea, and now it’s in my Reader 🙂 I live/teach in Daegu now also (since Feb) and just wanted to say Hi, and that this post made me look up the BodyRock routines. I’ve done 2 in the past 2 days and I’m super sore! Thanks for posting about it, and I can only imagine the looks you guys were getting in the gym teaching these routines.

    Rock on.
    Gina
    http://konglishadventures.wordpress.com

  2. 2 moving and storage in Oceanside May 6, 2013 at 6:28 am

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed
    the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab
    inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to
    go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  3. 3 meet singles in jacksonville fl June 28, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    naturally like your web site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding
    it very bothersome to tell the reality nevertheless
    I will certainly come back again.

  4. 4 natural sleep remedies August 5, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    If you would like to obtain a good deal from this piece of writing then you have to apply these techniques to
    your won blog.

  5. 5 yoga May 29, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Superb, what a blog it is! This web site provides helpful facts to us, keep
    it up.

  6. 6 zymbiotix July 5, 2014 at 10:52 am

    Woah this specific blog site is great i enjoy studying your articles. Remain the great get the job done! You’re certain, everybody is looking around just for this information and facts, it is possible to assistance these individuals greatly.

  7. 7 clash of clans tips July 17, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism
    or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either
    written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my
    agreement. Do you know any methods to help stop content from being
    ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  8. 8 outdoor fitness programs August 28, 2014 at 4:53 pm

    It’s an amazing article in support of all the web users; they will get advantage from it I am sure.


  1. 1 Update: More faux fitness training « Much Ado About Lisa Trackback on July 29, 2010 at 1:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


