GMC #2: Spiced Pork Stew-Indian Style

Ah…finally, I have successfully completed my second submission to my GMC (Garam Masala Challenge).  Go ahead and click here if you don’t have a clue as to what I’m talking about.

I’ve been scouting my favorite recipe website, looking for Indian recipes that are a) not too difficult and b) use garam masala.  It’s a little tough.  Seriously, I  have a new found appreciation for Indian restaurants/cooks.  So much of their delicious foods – do require a lot of ingredients and work (in my opinion). 

I happened to find this week’s recipe using the “old-fashion” way – Google.  I had most of the ingredients on hand already.  And it didn’t seem too difficult.  However, I did have to change it up a little – since the recipe never actually called for garam masala.  Oops.  :-)  But it did call for ALL the individual spices that make up garam masala…so why not use a shortcut? 🙂

For the original recipe, go here.

I started with a slew of spices – one of course being garam masala.

 

And then I blended up a bunch of spices, garlic, vinegar, sugar, etc. into a paste – which I let some cubed pork loin pieces marinate in.

   

I fried up the marinated pork pieces in batches.

   

And then combined cubed potatoes, diced tomatoes, the partially cooked pork, and chicken broth.  Oh, I also threw in a few handfuls of frozen green garbanzo beans.  Eh…why not?

   

Let it simmer for an hour or so, and you get this Indianish-pork stew kind of thing.  I served with some fresh cilantro on top.   

 

I realize, it really doesn’t look all that special, but it definitely tasted good.  I ate mine as a stew/soup, while Micah ate his over rice.

GMC #2 – check!

4 Responses to “GMC #2: Spiced Pork Stew-Indian Style”


  1. 1 sisira senadheera December 23, 2010 at 3:23 am

    Good i appreciate it.

  2. 2 blog mode pas cher May 19, 2014 at 11:20 am

    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article post. I like to write a
    little comment to support you.

  3. 3 recipes indian September 22, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    I have been exploring forr a bit for any high quality articles oor weblog posts oon this kind off house .
    Exploring in Yahooo I finally stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this info So i’m glad to exhibit that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I came upon just
    what I needed. I so much indubitably will make
    certain to do nott fail to emember this web
    site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

  4. 4 desktop site September 23, 2015 at 9:50 am

    I am genuinely grateful to the holder of
    this website who has shared this great paragraph at at this place.


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Archives


