Nutty for almond milk

I’ve never been a huge fan of milk.  I think it stems from my childhood where due to cost-saving measures, we had to drink goat milk.  I thought it was awful and hated drinking it.  I find it so ironic that in today’s milk shelves, goat milk is the most expensive to buy in stores and somewhat considered a ‘”luxury” milk.  And not to mention, what’s up with people’s love for goat cheese (blech!!!)  I even just saw goat milk yogurt.

goat milk yogurt

(Ahhh…talk about my worst yogurt fears come true!)

Anyway…my milk consumption is SUPER limited on a daily, even weekly basis.  I do enjoy milk with my cereal, but I rarely eat cereal (and really, what else are you going to pour in your cereal).  And I do like love chocolate milk, but not that I need more sugar in my diet.  Most of the time, if we even have milk, it’s a small container that often goes bad before it’s even half used.

So, I was so excited about my new grocery store find!  I know it’s not new new…it’s been around for a bit, but it’s definitely new to me.

Blue-Diamond-Almond-Milk_071A71F1

Almond milk!!!!  As the name suggests, it’s milk made from ground almonds.  I just tried the original flavor, but I’m sure the vanilla and chocolate varieties are tasty (but also more calories and more sugar)

I thought it had a delicious, nutty taste.  Plus, it’s healthier than regular cow milk (as it has no cholesterol, fewer calories per serving, and as much calcium).  Granted, it does not have as much protein, but I don’t have a problem with my protein intake (mmm….meat!), but I do worry about not getting enough calcium.

Another added benefit – for those who are lactose intolerant – almond milk is naturally lactose free.  Drink away, worry free!

I drank it straight (yum), and tried it with some leftover rice krispy cereal (yum)I read that almond milk can be a substitute for recipes calling for cow milk (that’ll be my next test). 

I’m totally hooked!  But I’m also going to give rice milk a try too.  I don’t plan on going with soy milk (although it is the most popular of the animal milk alternatives), because of the whole soy/estrogen thing.

I definitely recommend at least trying it out!  I’m so glad I did.  I just happened to buy it on a whim one day last week.

3 Responses to “Nutty for almond milk”


  1. 1 Agreeing May 11, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    I agree with you. I tried it after a Whole Foods sales rep recommended it. It has an awesome taste…with 30% RDA of calcium. I’m hooked and will never drink cow’s milk or soy milk again.

  2. 2 Mom May 16, 2011 at 6:24 am

    Okay, I know all you kids did not REALLY enjoy, or should I say even like the goat milk, and I must admit it wasn’t my favorite, but I do like goat cheese!!! Yay for trying the almond milk! You need to keep your teeth and bones strong, that is what I tell Brogan and Norri when they drink their milk, heh, heh… Love

  3. 3 muchadoaboutlisa May 24, 2011 at 5:42 am

    and almond, soy, rice milk – they all have as much calcium as cow’s milk! Pretty amazing. You should try it!


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


