A onesie baby cake

A friend of mine is having a baby…girl!  So I opted to bake some desserts for her baby shower over the weekend.  In addition to some delicious cream cheese coffee bread, and some rich, decadent chocolate toffee bars, I decided to make something unique and fun that really screamed….IT’S A GIRL!!

Taking some inspiration from the internet, I finally landed on this onesie-shaped cake.

IMAG0061

CUTE!  Well, Micah’s initial response was, “It’s furry.”

Despite my “furry” onesie cake – it was well-appreciated by the momma-to-be. 

However, some were a little confused by what it was.  Apparently, it also resembles some kind of creature when viewed upside-down.

IMAG0061

Hmm…an earless bunny rabbit perhaps?

This cake was super easy to make. 

  • I chose the semi-homemade way and used two boxed cake mixes (white cake dyed pink with food coloring) and cooked them in a 9×13 pan. 
  • After cooling, I laid one cake on top of the other with a sourcream, sugar, and coconut filling between the layers. 
  • Micah sketched out a onesie for me on paper and helped me cut the cake accordingly. 
  • I then made 7-minute frosting – and dyed it pink too. 
  • Frost the cake, and then put on the shredded coconut (also dyed pink)
  • I added a heart-shaped cookie (a shortbread cookie I cut into a heart) to add a small girly touch.  And I also used some pink Mike and Ike candies to create the buttons.
  • FYI: If I hadn’t gone with the coconut on top – I think it would have been very clear to everyone that it was a onesie.  Smile
3 Responses to “A onesie baby cake”


  1. 1 Anonymous September 22, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    It could also be an anatomically correct heart with valves and all!!

  2. 2 sparklingallison September 25, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    It was yummy AND pretty! Well done. 🙂

  3. 3 fast acting diet pills August 23, 2013 at 7:12 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.

    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you
    wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.


Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Archives


