I’ve been duped!

Tis the season.  And with that brings holiday theme-ing to all our favorite (and not so favorite)  products.  Typically, I’m cool with this.  I’m not one to turn down Christmas colored Oreos, or any cookies/candy/sweets (aside from that pesky month of October)  for that matter.

However, we are approaching Christmas, not Halloween!  I was totally tricked by a can of Coke.  

Let me present, exhibit A:

Ah…my once or twice or thrice a week indulgence – a tasty, refreshing Diet Coke (a small perk of working at a telecom/tech company – free soda)

But…did you notice?!

As soon as I took one sip, my tongue knew.  What is this heavy, sugary, syrupy liquid?!!

Insert…*gasp* – yep, I’ve been duped.

I took a longer more careful view of this white can with red lettering…and yes, this was regular Coke.  BLAH!  Apparently, this was an attempt of appearing “festive” and capturing the popularity of those darn (and cute) polar bears.

In fact, I was not the only one duped.  Whoever stocks the fridges in our building, they put this right on the Diet Coke shelf.

Just so you know I (and unknown soda shelf stocker) isn’t/aren’t crazy…here’s what I’m used to reaching for:

Come on now…you’d be duped too!  

5 Responses to “I’ve been duped!”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 30, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    As an expert Diet Coke drinker (yes, they do exist) you made two amateur mistakes….The presence of the classic coca-cola trademark and the absence of “diet” on the can!!

  2. 2 Mark Z. December 1, 2011 at 12:43 am

    OMG, I was just on a flight where a guy asked for a regular Coke and the flight attendant handed him one of the holiday cans and he got really pissed and said, “I asked for *regular* Coke.” And the flight attendant shot him a look and said, “That’s what I *gave* you, honey.” If only Coca-Cola knew what sort of disruption they were causing the world economy with all of this confusion…

  3. 3 muchadoaboutlisa December 1, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    @Mark Z. LOL!! If you aren’t looking carefully…you won’t notice the absence of “Diet”. P.S. We were just talking about you the other day (me and Naomi!). Hope you are doing well!

  4. 4 Mark Z. December 2, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    Thanks Lisa! Things are busy around here, but other than that, they’re great! 🙂 Say hi to Naomi for me!


  1. 1 I wasn’t the only one duped! « Much Ado About Lisa Trackback on December 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Where in the world…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other followers

Archives


